2019 Young Composers Festival

Bagaduce Music's 23rd Annual Young Composers Festival was held on Saturday, April 20 in Emlen Hall at the Bay School in Blue Hill, Maine. All Maine students who entered their original compositions in the 23rd Annual Young Composers Competition and their families were invited to attend this festival.  
At the festival, the following prizes were awarded in two divisions.  In Catagory I (Ages 13 and Younger) First Place was awarded to Evan Smith from Orono for his piano piece entitled "Venice".  Second Place was given to Ryan Sweet from Bowdoinham for "Red Knight", which was written for piano.  Third place went to Silas Bartol from Manchester for his string quartet "Snowfall".
In Catagory II (Ages 14 and Older), First Place was awarded to Cedar Ellis of Seal Cove for his orchestral composition "The Beaches of Green Water".  Second Place was given to Benjamin S. Walker from Hodgon for his piece "Every End Has a Beginning", which was written for small orchestra.  Third place went to Alexandra Augur of Yarmouth for her piano piece "Nocturne in G Minor".  And Honorable Mention was given to Benjamin Rico from Sabattus for his SATB choral work "Nevermore".
In addition to being able to perform their original pieces in front of an audience, festival participants were able to speak with the threee judges about their compositions.  Students were also invited to attend a Composition Workshop at the Bay School immediately following the festival.
The keynote speaker for the Young Composers Festival was the musician and Lutheran minister Elaine Hewes, who gave an inspirational talk about having the courage to create the music that lives and burns and sings deep inside ourselves.  
The 23rd annual Young Composers Competition and Festival was made possible by grants from the Britton Fund and the Maine Arts Commission and by generous donations from Sarah Fraley, the Merle B. Grindle Agency, Stephen Poulos, Janet Schlesinger, Jerry Jaffe and Fairwinds Florist.